American Liberty gold coins use high relief, 24-karat gold, and new allegorical portraits instead of repeating one fixed Liberty design.

This guide displays the six normalized 2015–2019 catalog records across three source-derived types. Official designs continue beyond that range, but later issue rows are not yet present in this catalog.

Core specifications

Issue period
2015 to date
Catalog mints
1
Reported catalog mintage
Not reported
Composition
Not stated
Diameter
Not stated
Weight
Not stated

Liberty becomes a contemporary design program

Since 2015, the Mint has invited modern interpretations of the allegorical Liberty figure, pairing each with a contemporary eagle reverse.

High-relief technology and changing denominations or product formats make this a design program rather than a single repeating coin type.

Obverse, reverse, and the details that identify the type

Confirm the major design, date, and mint mark before studying smaller die differences.

The main portrait and date

The portrait changes by release; the representative 2019 design shows Liberty with thirteen rays of light radiating from her headdress.

Denomination, subject, and mint mark

The eagle changes with the paired design; the 2019 coin shows a bald eagle preparing to land.

Where the cataloged coins were made

Totals are calculated from reported issue records in this catalog; unknown figures are not counted as zero.

  • W — West Point: 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019; Mintage not reported. W identifies West Point; use the year, product, and finish to separate circulation releases from collector issues.

Representative issues that explain the series

Collect by design year and exact denomination, then pair gold coins with related silver medals only when the official program identifies the shared artwork.

Issue catalog

From one type coin to a complete catalog

  • One representative coin: Choose one problem-free, readable example and learn the size, edge, and major design.
  • Major-type set: Use one coin per major design to show changes in artwork, composition, or production.
  • Dates and mints: Work through the issue catalog by date and mint, defining special finishes separately.

Catalog status note

The official American Liberty program continues beyond 2019, but this catalog currently contains only six 2015–2019 issue rows and no grade-value matrix. The page states that limitation instead of fabricating later records.

Sources

  1. American Liberty Gold Coins and Silver Medals — United States Mint
  2. United States Mint Bullion Coins — United States Mint
  3. American Liberty Gold category reference — PCGS CoinFacts